Tags

, , , ,

As you can probably tell, I have been a bit distracted; I missed Tuesday again. Because of this recurring phenomenon, until further notice I’m going to call Tuesday a “bonus day” and guarantee posts on Thursdays only. I hope to pick up a twice-a-week schedule later when things in my real life calm down a little, but as of right now my PCs aren’t the only ones living in interesting times. . . .

But with that out of the way, on to more interesting things!

If you haven’t gotten the hint from the posts that populate this space, I tend to play characters on the “Chaotic” side of the alignment spectrum. The simple reason is: they’re FUN! I mean, c’mon, Lawful is so . . . restricting. Also, considering what happens when I try to be a lawful leader, you can see why I decide to make life hard for OTHER PEOPLE instead.

However, there’s always a danger I have to be aware of: messing up the game too much. There are other people at the table. So while running up to a giant spider armed with only a wrench might be hilarious once in a while, if you’re always running off or getting into trouble or CAUSING trouble, it’ll get old for the other players, FAST.

It’s critical that every player at a table works together in and out of character for a game to thrive. Chaos can be hilarious and add spice to a game, but it also can be extremely irritating for the person who isn’t the one sewing it. I sometimes run around as an Eclipse Phase character called “Cleo.” She’s a member of the Lost Generation: a little psychic and a little psychotic. Specifically she has a sort of personality disorder that means she doesn’t understand how to function in normal society. Cleo understands that people get angry when they get insulted–she’s seen that happen before. However, she dosen’t understand what people find insulting.

It’s always interesting to play Cleo, because it’s a balance between being true to the character I’ve created and not aggravating the heck out of my fellow players by asking stupidly obvious questions all the time. There was an entertaining episode where we were asked to kill a man in revenge by the woman he had killed (she got better–you can upload/download/back-up your mind in Eclipse Phase). Cleo found him–but since the murderer didn’t have a backup copy of himself, she thought it would be unfair to kill him completely. So Cleo let him go with a warning that the next time she saw him he needed to have a backup because she would really have to kill him.

Of course, her teammates later freaked out when they discovered she’d let him go, but it wasn’t a critical plot point. You’ve got to pick and choose how much insanity you want to inject in a game. If the man had been the only guy who had the information they needed for the story to continue, well, I would be ticked off too.

For all my fellow chaos-sowers out there: as odd as it may seem, be careful! A game is a delicate thing; if you want to keep playing, you have to respect everyone at the table.

That being said . . . do something silly next time–for me! 😉

