Tags

, , , ,

Hey folks, it’s been a while! I apologize for the fact that the last post indicated I was getting back into the swing of things and then I went AWOL. And while I think the blog will shift slightly to a more general view of gaming, I will still try and have entertaining stories for you–like the one following!

Back in the late 90’s Marvel published a RPG using the SAGA system. If you look for it nowadays, the card deck alone can cost a few hundred dollars . . . though there are PDFs floating around out there. A friend of mine, known for running the Victim’s Ball LARPs in western NY (among other things) has a pristine set of these cards and is an INCREDIBLE GM of the game. He runs it in an alternate Marvel universe which grows and changes depending on the actions of the players in each game of it he runs.

Marvel SAGA

Now, if you’ve read any of this blog, you know my characters run on the Chaotic side of the alignment spectrum. When said GM friend said he was going to run a Marvel SAGA scenario he called “The Quiet Room” which would start out in a facility for “Troubled Youths” I giggled like a schoolgirl. I created a character who “Absolutely did not start the second fire in the department store,” but when asked about the first fire, she just shrugged and said something disparaging about corporations.

In “The Quiet Room” what the character’s don’t know is they’ve been targeted because they’re emergent mutants. The GM, posing as a psychiatrist, asks the PCs a series of questions about their delinquency and bases their powers on their answers. My little firebug, naturally, became a pyrokinetic. She discovered this via a few abrupt wake-up calls as things in her sparse bedroom spontaneously combusted.

The rest of the scenario involved busting out of the facility, which turned out to have a “let’s dissect them and see how they work” policy when it came to mutants. I nearly got my character killed because she decided to see if the knockout gas they were trying to pump into the rooms was flammable (guess what? It WAS!).

Since I played in “The Quiet Room” a few years ago, I don’t remember the details as clearly as the more recent times I played the character. In fact, I had to rename her–she has now been dubbed Lia/Firebug. Since I’ve played the game a few more times, I have to say, the SAGA system is one of my favorites. It’s very story-oriented, which I’m always partial to. Also, it makes for hilariously interesting characters–but more on that next time, when I’ll review some other aspects of the system and details Lia’s second adventure.

